Research Subcommittee

Main Responsibilities

  1. Identify pedestrian research needs/topics and develop Pedestrian RNS

    The Research Subcommittee is responsible for adding to and modifying the prioritized list of Pedestrian Research Needs Statements (RNS) for the full TRB Pedestrian Committee. The full Pedestrian Committee reviews and endorses the Subcommittee research recommendations.

  2. Find organizations to fund and conduct necessary research; promote the RPS to these organizations

    There are a variety of organizations that can fund pedestrian research, and they have different constituents and interests. The Research Subcommittee seeks to identify RNS that match the interests and resources of different groups. Potential government and university-based research organizations include:

    • National Cooperative Highway Research Program (NCHRP)
    • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)
    • Transit Cooperative Research Program (TCRP)
    • State DOT research divisions
    • University planning and engineering departments
    • University Transportation Centers (UTCs)
    • Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) Office of Safety and Office of Environment and Planning
    • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

    In addition to these, there are various non-governmental organizations and stakeholders that the Research Subcommittee seeks to identify and match with research and funding opportunities.

  3. Track previous, ongoing, and upcoming research in a RPS database

    The Research Subcommittee tracks pedestrian projects in the TRB Research in Progress Database as well as other recently-completed, ongoing, and upcoming pedestrian research projects. It maintains a database of these pedestrian research projects that includes the project title, funding organization(s), researcher(s), and timeframe.

Additional Information

Do you have comments or questions about the work or products of the Pedestrian Research Subcommittee? Are you interested in joining or helping the Pedestrian Research Subcommittee? If so, please e-mail Ilona Kastenhofer or Joe Fish.